Annual Danish Astronomy Meeting 2019

IDA PhD Prize 


The IDA PhD Prize is an award for most scientifically outstanding PhD thesis defended at a Danish University in 2018. The PhD prize committee will select one researcher who will be awarded the PhD prize at our annual meeting. 

How to apply

We advise all supervisors of PhD students who finished their thesis at a Danish University in 2018 to provide IDA with the following: A short letter of recommendation (1 page max):

  • Stating outstanding scientific achievements
  • Stating the impact of the thesis within the field of astronomy
  • Stating the candidates future prospects and level of independence
  • Stating possible outstanding activities, awards, grants, prices (related to science but not necessarily to the work itself)

Additionally, the supervisor should provide a CV (1 page) made by the student (highlighting the education and achievements) and a list of publications.


Please provide the information by sending an email to by April 10, 2019.


Prize Committee

The ADAM PhD prize committee consist of: 

Troels Haugbølle (KU), Christoffer Karoff (AU), Heidi Korhonon (KU), and Christoph Köhn (DTU)


Instrument Center for Danish Astrophysics - Ny Munkegade 120 - 8000 - Aarhus - 93521576 -